Dear Member of the SIGMM Community,

Welcome to the latest issue of the ACM SIG Multimedia Records!

We have to start this issue of the Records by informing you about the passing of Prof. Nicolas Georganas. Whether you knew Nicolas well or not, we invite you to read the appreciations by Shervin Shirmohammadi and Larry Rowe.

Fortunately, we can also pass on good news. You can read about the receivers about the SIGMM’s two prestigious awards, the SIGMM Award for Outstanding Technical Contributions to Multimedia Computing, Communications and Applications and the SIGMM Award for Outstanding PhD Thesis in Multimedia Computing, Communications and Applications. The Outstanding Technical Contributions Award is award to Prof. Ramesh Jain. The Outstanding PhD Thesis Award goes to Dr. Effrosyni Kokiopoulou. They will be presented with the Awards at ACM Multimedia 2010, which is held in Florence, Italy, October 25-29. We congratulate the awardees already now!

We can also present summaries of two PhD theses, report from ACM MIR 2010, and provide you with direct access to the latest papers in TOMCCAP and MMSJ.

The Editors

Jun Wang
Stephan Kopf
Yi Cui
Regu Radhakrishnan
Viktor Wendel
Lei Zhang
Carsten Griwodz

Bookmark the permalink.