ACM Awards Announcement

ACM Awards Recognize Computer Scientists for Innovations that Have Real World Impact


In March, the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) awarded six prestigious awards for innovations in computing technology that demonstrate the benefits of computational thinking for industry, education, and society. These awards were now presented at the ACM Awards Banquet on June 26, in San Francisco, CA. The awards reflect outstanding achievements that have led to improved medical diagnostics and healthcare delivery, better teaching methods for high school computer science, more secure Internet transactions, and enhanced network efficiency.

Eugene L. Lawler Award for Humanitarian Contributions within Computer Science and Informatics
Gregory Abowd, Georgia Institute of Technology

Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award
Mihir Bellare, University of California, San Diego
Phillip Rogaway, University of California, Davis

Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award
Matthias Felleisen, Northeastern University

Grace Murray Hopper Award
Tim Roughgarden, Stanford University

ACM – AAAI Allen Newell Award
Michael I. Jordan, University of California, Berkeley

Software System Award
Mendel Rosenblum, Stanford University
Edouard Bugnion, Cisco
Scott Devine, VMWare
Edward Wang
Jeremy Sugerman, Stanford University


Dear Member of the SIGMM Community,

Welcome to the latest issue of the ACM SIG Multimedia Records!

This issue, we want to present several new activities of the SIG Multimedia that require your contributions.

First go the SIGMM history archives. These archives are meant to prevent SIGMM’s conferences from being forgotten over time. The ACM Multimedia conference established the position of preservation chair a few years ago, and other conferences and workshops take care of their history as well, and have provided it to the SIG’s preservation team. For some events, both a long time ago and recent, the history chairs need your help. Please read their call to see if you can help. Read more